Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:56 a.m. - Dec. 23, 2001
Laredo Road Trip
Never been to Laredo before - until now. On Friday, Sasha went to Birmingham, AL to spend a few days with his family. So, Philly and I decided to make a Valium run. We took our time getting out of town Friday, leaving Htown around 1230pm or 1. We had not a single worry. No agenda.

It was a spectacular (and quick) road trip. Half Divinity, some Valium...and we paid homage to the time old tradition of celebrating 4:20. It was a fun drive. The whole way, we had great sky - clear and blue, with large billowy clouds. And the birds followed us. At one point, on a particularly long stretch of open road, we were going about 75 miles an hour. Out of nowhere, a large hawk flew up right in front of us. We had to slow down because it seemed like it might fly right into us. When we slowed down, a lady that was going just a bit faster than us (maybe 80), wanted to pass us. We let her pass and immediately, we saw lights. A cop pulled her over. We slowed down and pulled over...for a bit. But, he didn't seem too interested in us, so we drove on. I came up with a crazy idea - to hide a bit of our stash somewhere, on the side of the road. That way, we can cross the border and back, and still have something for the long ride back home. Philly agreed and we laughed at the absurdity of it. /P>

We checked into La Posado, in Laredo. I was more than just a bit surprised. The place was beautiful! We had Margaritas while bundled up next to the pool. It was a crisp night. There were a half dozen cats (and kittens), climbing up into the palm trees and following us into our room.

Originally, we were considering meeting up with a local (whom Philly was im'ing) at a bar. However, we never made it. We met the steak instead. Seriously, we were doomed. The food at the Tackroom was simple and tasty. My steak was cooked to perfection - all juicy and tender. For starters, we indulged in the Beer & Cheese soup. It sounded yucky to me at first, but it ended up being quite delicious. A nice treat on a cold night. With dinner we had more drinks - red wine for me and another Margarita for Philly.

At some point we had taken two more Valium each. Philly describes the feeling as "walking on water" (or...becoming the water) It's true. Complete and total relaxation. Philly got on the 'puter (he brought his laptop) and I sat outside, under the stars. What a great way to unwind.

Philly said he was going to take a power nap and then perhaps hook up at the bar with Thomas. I took a 4:20 bath, put on my comfiest PJs, and called it a night.

Philly said he woke up around 4 or 5am and decided he wasn't, after all, going out.

We slept until Clint called us and woke us up. We checked out of the hotel, threw all of our stuff in the truck, walked the bridge over to Nuevo Laredo, (Mexico), and had our first meal of the day at El Dorado. We sat down at just before noon and I ordered my first drink in Mexico (it's kinda my own little private tradition)...a Pina Colada. We had a light lunch and did some shopping. I bought a silver KoKopelli ring and a couple of brightly painted ceramic jars.

When we had enough shopping, we just headed on back to Htown. We stopped at the final rest stop before laredo - and we retrieved our little treat. I got my damn arm stuck in a metal fence though. I was wearing long sleeves...and I panicked. My elbow swelled up a bit and I have two slightly blue bruises. Got back last night, at an early hour...but, exhausted just the same. We had partied all weekend again. It was such a nice time, unwinding like that. Philly and I totally mind-melded. We have decided that we are soul siblings. He is definitely my soul brother. We definitely have a strong connection.

Now, I'm trying to write...and Peanut is bugging me for attention. Wants me to stop typing and give some lovin.' Philly and I just had brunch and he's back in bed, sleeping. He loves his power naps!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!