Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

5:14 p.m. - Jan. 14, 2002
Nico's Bowling party
Today is my son's 13th birthday. We had a bithday party for him (plus 2 other classmates that share the same birthday) on Saturday. We had a Bowling Party. Forty kids on the verge of being teenagers, sprawled over 10 bowling lanes. It was madness, indeed.

And, so much fun!

Nico has an interesting bowling technique. Essentially, he grabs the ball with both hands (not actually using those little finger holes) and chucks it, as hard as he can, down the lane. Amazingly, this technique worked fairly well for him.

Besides, it made all the girls turn their heads. Nico is the class clown...and a jock...and popular, to boot.

With minimal egging on, he stuck his head into his birthday cake. Yes, I have pictures to prove this feat to the world forever more. But, he did this only after looking up at me for some sign of disapproval. Which I never gave. I smiled back at him and said, "This is YOUR birthday, go for it!"

His entire face was blue the rest of the day...and into the evening.

It was a great time. I was the official photographer, prize giver-outer, and all around cool mom. It was wonderful. Ended up spending a marathon 5+ hours in that damn bowling alley though. It was a long day...but worth every minute.

Happy birthday, Nico. I love you..and I am so very proud of you.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!