Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:46 a.m. - Apr. 23, 2002
A time for growth
�What doesn�t kill us will only make us stronger.�

I�m gonna be WWF Material soon. Monkey Girl Smackdown. Bring it on.

My rent check bounced�and my rent has gone unpaid for weeks. Technically, my landlord can slap me hard with lots of late fees, etc. � to the sum of just over $1K. This has never, ever, never happened to me. I have never been a flake on my rent. I have never fucked up with money so badly in my life. My landlord decided to give me a break because this was �so out of character� for me. He only charged me an additional $50�and he apologized for having to charge me that. The condition of this arrangement was that I had to drop off $800 cash by 6pm last night. I had $530 in my account. Scramble, scramble, make it happen. I had an �ontime bonus� check for $100 so I deposited that�and then I borrowed the rest from my mother. Yes, I borrowed money from my mother. Sucks. I�m freakin 33 years old. Time to grow up, huh?

I guess it happens.

I have never felt more humiliated. But, my landlord was cool about the whole thing. He asked me if everything was alright, smiled, and shook my hand. Nice guy. I apologized profusely, thanked him, and crawled back to my car, embarrassed.

Oh well � it happens.

When I pulled up to my house, there was a man parked outside. When I got out of my car, he got out of his�and walked up to me. He was all smiles as he made small talk. I smiled back, looked up at him and said, �I�m being served, aren�t I?� He smiled back and admitted that YES, I was being served.

My husband is suing me for divorce.

So much for us �working it out peacefully, without a bunch of lawyers and stuff.�

Now I have to hire a lawyer and respond within 10 days or something. Asshole. When Walter filed for divorce, he had it written that he would take everything � except for the damn car that I never wanted in the first place. When I read this, I picked up the phone and told Walter right then and there that his �offer� was bullshit � and grossly unfair. I reminded him that I am entitled to half of freakin everything he has. I reminded him that I don�t WANT everything that I am entitled, because I am not like THAT. But, it is grossly unfair for him to expect me to walk away from the house, free and clear. He couldn�t have gotten into that house without me. I have always made more money than him � and, subsequently, paid a larger portion of the bills. It is not fair that he get to keep the house and the equity in that house, just because I didn�t want to stay married to him. I am not walking away with nothing. I just want enough for a down payment on a home of my own. But, now THIS. He wants to play mean in the sand box.

Ok, if that�s the way you want to do this. I can throw sand, too.

Things are looking better today. My roommate gave me $50 (yeah, I can buy gas for my car!) and my colleague brought me flowers, to cheer me up.

What does the Tulip say? (Every flower has some significance � some �meaning� that is held in its petals) The red rose is a symbol of love, the yellow rose a symbol of friendship. But, what does the Tulip say? This is the 2nd time (in two weeks) that a friend had given me Tulips, to cheer me up.

I am very blessed. Reminded, once again, of the many blessings in my life.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!