Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:01 p.m. - Jul. 19, 2002
Happy Boogie Love
Travel Journal - Part 3. (Highlight of the Boogie)

...again, long overdue...but, here goes!

Ok, so Eltin and I had taken some magic mushrooms (my first time in almost 10 years!) and we were wandering around the forest with a group of friends, tripping our asses off. We hiked to the end of the forest where a group of people that call themselves the "Monkey Chanters" were camped. They are a large group of mostly young, bohemian people - both male & female. They had fire-jugglers, a drumm circle, naked women with painted bodies dancing around the campfire... oh, it was incredible! After awhile, Eltin turned to me and whispered, "Do you want to go back to the tent?" I asked him (seriously), "Do you think you can find it?" He assured me that he could. At first, I followed him. But, as time went on, I realized that it would be up to me to get us back to camp. He was really tripping. It was quite dark and we didn't have a flashlight. There were hundreds and hundreds of camps set up...with hundreds and hundreds of people, all camping everywhere throughout the forest. It was funny because every time that Eltin and I got to this one particular place on the path, he would stop...and INSIST that "This is NOT the way!" And he would refuse to go any furhter. But - I KNEW that it was the right way. I humorted him anyways - and allowed him to backtrack on the path a bit, to see if he thought there was a better way for us to go. We did this THREE TIMES! After the 3rd time he did this, I finally just told him, "Eltin, THIS is the way back. I am going that way. You can follow me or not." I turned away from him and walked off. I couldn't see ANYTHING - I was walking in complete and total darkness. But I felt the forest and the path under my feet - everything was telling me that I was going the right way. Sure enough - we walked only a short bit further and VOILA, we were back at our camp. Eltin was AMAZED!!! He kept saying, "How did you do that?" Hee, hee, hee... :)

He wanted to crawl into the tent but it was HOT AS HELL inside the tent. Outside the tent it is was a beautiful night with a slightly cool breeze. Besides, it was dark. Who in the hell would care if we made love inside or outside the tent? Well, I followed him into the tent...and layed down my head. I suddenly found myself completely unable to move. It felt as if my body had grown roots and the roots were digging deep into the ground. I could see and hear and feel everything that was going on all around me. I could hear people running all through the forest. I could hear drums in the distance. I could hear Eltin speaking to me. But all I could do was lay there with my head on the ground, listening to the forest.

I do not know how long I stayed this way. I think that Eltin thought that I had fallen asleep. But I was very much awake. After this small eternity, I "awoke" from this strange spell...and immediately wanted out of that damn tent. I motioned for Eltin to follow me...and, to my surprise, he did. His friend Philip had brought a hammock and had set it up in between two trees in our camp. I crawled up into the hammock and Eltin crawled in with me. It was the most fantastic feeling - looking up into the night sky, swinging gently back &B forth in that hammock, and being curled up in Eltin's arms. Ahhhhhh...life could NOT get any better! (Or, so I thought..)

I was looking up at the night sky and I saw two fireflies (the little bugs that light up) right above us. Wow, this was magical. The Eltin whispered to me, "Michelle, I love you." It was barely audible. Maybe he thought that I din't hear him because he said it again. I had known, in my heart and in my soul, that he loved me - but this was the first time that he had spoken the words to me. He said it to me that night, over and over again. My god, my heart was overflowing! I felt like I was going to explode...

We didn't sleep much that night. At some point we crawled back into the tent and I think we attempted to make love...but we ended up just kinda passing out in each other's arms.

We both slept very lightly and I remember the sun coming up. It was a cool, damp morning. All I could think about was taking a walk through the forest. I convince (quite easily) Eltin to join me. We had no particular destination in mind, we just started walking. I remember that there was a community kitchen set up down by the river, where the stage was. We walked down there and talked to a few dedicated musicians - they had been playing music all throught the night and they were still at it. I put some wood on the fire and made coffee for a few people that wandrered up. We found some bagels and Eltin cooked them on the fire for us, with slices of tomato. It was a good breakfast, simple.

That day we hiked down to a waterfall that we had heard about. It was a long, hot hike - so, when we finally reached the waterfall, it was a wonderful blessing! Icy cold water, let me tell you!

So - that's the highlight of my Atlanta trip - Eltin telling me that he loves me. Wow.

The next day he whispered to me again and again, "I love you." As if I didn't remember or I might've thought that he was just tripping so hard on mushrooms that he didn't really mean it. But I know that he does.

I had to fly back to Mexico City, from Atlanta, to pick up my friends. That was painful. I was delirious from exhaustion from not sleeping and from partying all weekend long. We drove the 2 1/2 hours back from the camp to the city of Atlanta and spent the night with some friends. We made love all night, got about 3 hours of sleep, and had to race out to the airport for our flights. When I got to Mexico, my frineds were waiting for me at the airport. We were suppoed to get right on the very next flight back to Houston. But, unfortunately, the flight was full. Since we ride standby, we were stuck. We tried to get on the next flight as well - but it too was full. I vaguely remember sitting on the floor in the airport, leaning up against our bags, taking a nap in the middle of all of the chaos. When we didn't get on the last flight of the day, we got a hotel room for the night. My friend paid for it and we stayed at a really nice property. We got fairly drunk that night.

Man, Mexico City stinks. What a dirty & smelly city.

The good news is that we were upgraded to First Class coming home, so we rode like kings.

It took me the better part of three days to feel human again. And...work has been relentless. My boss was in the office all last week, so I didn't get any kind of break from the madness. Oh well.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!