Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:35 a.m. - Aug. 26, 2002
Ground Zero
(written Thursday, Aug 22)

Just chillin @ the Holiday Inn woo hoo, relaxing before THE big day!

I just have to say ~ I love this city. It's my kind of place. There's just something about New York. It infects me, like a fever.

I went down to Ground Zero today with Chris. It's the first time that I've been back to the WTC since 9/11. I always meant to go - but the time just never seemed right. Today it was time.

We took a cab from South Street Seaport Pier 17 to the Marriott Financial Center, to deliver the officers' packets. I realized where I was and asked Chris if he would take me to the site.

THAT is a sight like I have never seen before ~ and it is NOTHING compared to the way that it WAS, before they did all the major cleanup.

We stood there, side by side, silent. We both just stared out at the big empty fucking hole in the ground ~ the place where the cement was torn like paper. It was eery, yes ~ but more than THAT, it was chilling. Literally. I felt a wave come up through me, from my lower legs. It chilled me but it was a good chill, if that makes sense. I felt a strong, peaceful, sweet energy, all throughout my body.

I had to pray.

It did not matter where I was, or who might see me or what they might think. It was an almost overwhelming urge.

I walked up to the fence (barricade that surrounds the entire site) and placed my hands out, palms open, on the fence. I could feel myself administering Reiki. I said my little

mantra...and repeated it (not out loud) a few times and then just stood there, giving Reiki. I prayed for peace and I sent my love & support out to the world.

It was humbling.

When we were both ready to go, we turned...and just started walking. Sure, we had taken a cab there...and sure, our meeting was to start in five minutes...and sure, it was a 20+ minute walk back.

Neither of us spoke. And we never hailed a cab. We walked the entire way back and spoke very few words.

No place on earth affects me like New York.

I truly love this city. I am so blessed to be here.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!