Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

1:33 p.m. - Sept. 26, 2002
Some kind of...calling?
Ok, this is just too freaky. But freaky things happen all the time - and they don't REALLY freak me out.

I've been learning ASL (American Sign Language). I have just always wanted to learn it. While in Seattle last weekend, Ben had an ASL dictionary in his toilet. I spent some time, off & on throughout that weekend, learning. On Monday, Eltin & I went to Barnes & Noble and I bought a copy for myself.

But - I couldn't locate the sign for Angel or Ocean.

So...I just went on a smoke break w/ my friend & co-worker (and sister psychic), Bernadette. She also signs as she has a friend that is deaf. She didn't know the sign for Angel or Ocean either. Damn.

When we returned from our break, I got online and found the greatest ASL site (thank you Michigan State University).... it requires that you load a media viewer (which takes about 3 minutes) and then has literally thousands of signs - including the signs for Angel and Ocean!!!!!!

But - that's not the freaky part. My phone then rang. It was a woman calling from the Onepass Service Center. She had a customer on the line that was inquiring about our corporate newsletter, Altitude - wanting a phone number for them. Well, we don't publish a phone number but we have a website. I asked her if that would work for her customer. She then told me that her customer was deaf, and was communicating with her by way of TTY (teletype) messages.

Well, holy shit.

Isn't that just groovy!?

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!