Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

5:13 p.m. - Oct. 21, 2002
Bittersweet
Ok, so I expected to return from Puerto Vallarta with a lovely adventure in my pocket - and a great story to share. (Which I do, by the way)...however...

It has been somewhat overshadowed by the 2nd go-round of layoffs at my company.

That's right.

I was driving home from the airport last night, around 7PM, when my cell phone rang. It was my boss. Calling me...on my personal cell phone...on a Sunday night...from Germany.

Hmmm...this can't be good.

Of course, I KNEW that something was getting ready to GO DOWN. I could feel it. I could sense it. I could see it. When you see your HR partner behind closed doors with Sr. mgmt., working late into the night, you kinda know something is getting ready to go down.

Seems that almost 70 people in Sales will be cut. Word was getting out, although the official announcement hadn't been made yet. My boss was calling me to give me a heads up. And to assure me that I had a job.

In fact, my entire team was left fully intact.

And - I'm gaining four direct-reports.

And - I'm getting a promotion.

Bittersweet, it really is. Bittersweet.

More on my Puerto Vallarta adventure later.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!