Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:10 a.m. - Jan. 14, 2003
laptop issssssssss working
��It�s just too crazy for everyone at work right now. No one has the time

to write on Wig anymore.�

Sounds like a challenge.

In order for me to bring you today�s Wig entry, I am actually writing this

last night. It is 9:12PM and I just hung up with Sasha.

My laptop is working again. Write the Pope - it is a damn miracle. Amen

and a Hallelujah to us all.

This laptop has been sitting dead, on the bottom of my closet, for months.

Most of the time it just scrolls the letter S, in all its glory.

Ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

And�that is only WHEN / IF it CHOOSES to power up.

Ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

(Oh it scares me now, even to just joke about it. Mocking it. Typing THAT

LETTER across the page, taunting it with my trick-foolery. )

Ha!

The Power of SSsssssssssssssssssssssss!!!

Brought to you by the letter Sssssssssssssssss.

Ssssssssssexy baby. Sexy. Yeah.

This piece of equipment, I�ll have you know, is a genuine 1995 Dell latitude

laptop, yes it is. And that is not a typo. 1995.

My Managing Director used this baby for years. She turned it back in, when

it got to be too old and rickety rackety. She then won it back, in a

lottery, and got to keep it. She gifted it to me, so that I could write at

home. After it had been packed away, in her closet, years ago.

I have no Internet connection at home. I only use this baby to write -

mainly journal entries, poetry and PowerPoint presentations, for fun.

Yes, I admit it. I make PowerPoint presentations for fun. A phrase, or a

few words only, on each slide - so that the words sort of flash across the

screen, but without cheesy word animation. Simple. Meant to be read as a

kind of spoken word on screen. Poetry written specially for the medium of

PowerPoint.

Ah, PowerPoint, my friend.

Friday night I went directly from work to Onion Creek. I had two beers.

Two. But I caught a damn good buzz. When I got home, I just simply wanted

to write. Oh for shits and grins why not attempt to fire up this baby and

see�just see�if this old dinosaur-of-a-letter-S-scrolling laptop will work.

Much to my amazement, it fired up. And it worked. And I wrote. And it was

good. Amen and a drinkalujah to us all. I wrote as long as I wanted. And

(get this!) when I was done, I powered it off too. All the way down. I

actually got to choose when IT was going to stop working � not when IT

decided it was done working.

I decided. How �bout that? Believe it.

Oh and I just discovered�I have no disks.

If no one reads this entry, it is because it does not exist. It never got

posted to Wig. I have no disks.

Maybe, just maybe in a million years, I will think about it�and actually

motivate�and pack this heavy-ass, rickety rackety old lovable dinosaur to

work, to save this to disk, to post on Wig.

And then again � what have I written? A little nonsense story about the

resurrection of a piece of metal�and my admission of being a PowerPoint

geek.

I love this old dinosaur of a laptop. It even has a roll-y ball Mouse,

which I love. This baby is so tiny. She is a petite little Princess of a

laptop, with an attitude. But tonight�

Tonight I have her�in the palm of my hand (or the tips of my pecking

fingers, as it were)

Write the Pope - it is a damn miracle.

(This DID get posted to wig - the Yahoo group that my friends and I have...)

I DID motivate.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!