Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

5:00 p.m. - Mar. 04, 2003
03 of 03 of 03
March 3, 2003

I feel like a million bucks. Too bad I�m not for sale; I could make some money. It is 03 03 03 today. I went to the gym tonight�and joined. Met with a trainer. Had my body fat measured. For my age (god, that sounds awful), I am considered �lean.� Woo hoo. Would you consider 20% body fat �lean?� It doesn�t sound so lean, to me. I have work to do. I want to tone and I want to have some pretty nice, cut arms. That way, when I punch someone, I won�t feel as if I am going to break. I want to be able to throw a serious punch. And I want a six pack. Big goals. Today I�ll just start with: 1. Going to the gym regularly and 2. Working hard when I am there.

I did a full body workout tonight (on the machines) and 15 minutes of Cardio. Cardio just about killed me. In my lungs. Too many cigarettes. Too much smoking. But this is the way that I seem to be most successful in quitting smoking�by beginning a workout program that forces me to quit.

But one step at a time.

I feel great. I went to the gym this past Thursday night as well. I have made a commitment to myself that I will go to the gym twice a week. That is my goal. Simple. But I know I will want to go more. I love that endorphin, adrenaline rush. I love the energy. I love feeling strong. I attempted to go to the gym this past Saturday night. I didn�t realize that they close at 6PM on the weekends.

I hung out with my friend, Cate, on Sunday. (She is at home, recovering from some minor surgery that she had on Friday). We drank a lot of coffee. Cate makes the absolute strongest (drip) coffee, ever. I had mine with 3 large, overflowing spoonfuls of nondairy creamer and Kahlua�and it was still WAY strong. Whew. Serious stuff. When I told her that I was on my way to Half Price Books, she told me (in no uncertain terms) that she has required reading for me.

I started reading Handmaiden�s Tale, on Sunday night. Very well written. Have you read it? Classic. Draws you into the character�s life and surroundings. You find yourself thrown into a futuristic world where there is a sociological meltdown. No personal freedom. Not too dissimilar to 1984. A good read. I�m enjoying it. And I sound like some silly book reviewer. Laughing at myself now�

I do not now how or why�but, my heater is suddenly working again. Maybe it was the dream? But there wasn�t any note from my landlady. Mystery. Welcome change. If you only knew how cold is was in my home last week. It was so cold that I could see my breath�while I was upstairs, in my bedroom. It was bad. I lit candles all around me while I typed on the keyboard. Then I would take a hot bubble bath. Every night. A necessity, actually, so I could get warm enough to be comfortable, for bed. But, it seems to be working once again. Go figure.

Vicious circle. Didn�t want to call my landlords to come fix my heater because my place was a huge, disgusting mess. I didn�t feel like cleaning because it was so damn cold in my place. So cold that I was shivering and I couldn�t think straight. I kept hoping for a warm day. Just one warm day. Then maybe. Maybe my home would warm enough so that I could clean it just enough to feel comfortable having my landlords come in. Then the heater would be fixed, my home would get cleaned and life would be beautiful once again.

I dreamt that my heater was fixed but that my landlady had seen my huge, disgusting mess. I woke up to a beautiful day on Saturday. It wasn�t warm, but it was cool. Not cold. Not freezing. I cleaned my home. It is presentable again. I could call my landlords now. But the heater is somehow, miraculously, working again. Go figure.

Coco is in her usual spot, next to me, as I type. She will pop within a week. I don�t think she�ll have more than 3 or 4 kittens. I hope that she has them when I am at home. I feel like I should (and could) help her.

It is after Midnight, Monday night. I am writing this at home. My old dinosaur keeps moaning along. It does funky things, but it seems to be working fine right now. Is that the story with everything in my life? I could bring up my antique boombox�

Nah, I think I�ll go to bed, instead. I am signing off at 12:12AM before this dinosaur starts to rebel. Goodnight.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!