Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

4:13 p.m. - Apr. 29, 2003
Mom: a new chapter
Life is funny. Many years ago, I would've absolutely died had I thought that I would be working with my mother. I was so afraid of her knowing me. And yet, there was always that part of me that really did want her to know me - really, really know ME.

Oh, but I was afraid. Afraid of failure, judgement, of disappointing her. I was afraid she wouldn't accept me if she really knew me.

But the universe has a sense of humor...and an interesting way of setting things right.

My mother and I both work in Sales, for the same company. Over the past few years, our jobs kept moving closer and closer together...to the point of us both working in the same division on the same floor, reporting to the same VP. I saw my mother more than I ever had in the past. I saw her every day. I would stop by her cubicle for quick advice, to bitch about something that pissed me off, to tell her about my day...or sometimes just to bum a peanut butter & jelly sandwich or a piece of that super hard bubble gum that she kept in her filing cabinet.

These are the little things that I took for granted. I guess I just thought that she would always be right around the corner from me.

And yes, she did learn things about me that shock me now to know that she knows. And it is all good. Every last bit of it. Because, when it is all said & done, my mother knows me and accepts me, exactly as I am. And I never would have known this, had our universes not collided like they did, for these past few years.

But...the only thing in life that is constant is change.

Today my mother moved to a different building, in a different department, under a different VP.

Today this chapter has come to an end. And now there is a new chapter to write.

I will miss having my mother right around the corner from me...

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!