Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:55 p.m. - May. 19, 2003
Dragon Boat Race: Bringin home the Gold!
At 34 years of age, I have won my first gold medal. And, amazingly enough, it is in an event in which I have never before participated. Sounds like something my son would do. Oh wait, it is something that my son has done. But, unlike me, he won 3 gold medals his first year of competition�in Track, this year. He is my inspiration. I won mine racing in the 3rd Annual Dragon Boat Race this past weekend. I was fortunate enough to get the position of Drummer.

This is an amazing story for me � some of the MOST fun I have ever had! Less than 3 weeks ago, I joined the Continental Airlines Sky Dragon Team, the current reigning champions. In practice, I paddled in the front of the boat (seriously hard work ~ moving a lot of water in this spot). I thought for sure, after this two-hour practice, that my arms were going to fall off, my back was going to break in two, the skin on my buttocks would never return and I would never be able to walk upright again. I was questioning what I had gotten myself into. Then the captain moved me to the back of the boat, where the small, strong people are positioned. In this position, I was known as a �rocket� where I would mainly be moving dead water. This was a much better spot for me, physically. I still worked my ass off, but this position didn�t kill me. I began to feel much better about my decision to join this team. Then, the day before the big race, our Drummer had an emergency. When I found out, I phoned the Captain immediately. �I want to be your Drummer. I want to be your Drummer!� But they had already filled the position with another girl. Because position of Drummer is dead weight, they really felt that they should choose the smallest person. However, I could probably sub with the Drummer, if needed. Ok, I�m flexible. Wherever you need me.

Day of the race, Captain gave Sally the position of Drummer for the first race. We did well (we won!) although the Coxswain yelled at her a lot (and she didn�t yell back.) I was paddling in 10th position, in the rear of the boat and I couldn�t hear her. I could see her and the 1st paddlers, so that was still alright. However, for the 2nd race, Captain played me as Drummer. I figured that I had one opportunity to steal Drummer position away from Sally. No hard feelings � I just really, really wanted that job. I was made for that position. I know this, I just had to prove it to everyone else. Before climbing into the boat, I introduced myself to the Coxswain and told him that he can yell at me all he wants ~ that I�m gonna yell right back at him�and he�s gonna hear me. Slapping of high-fives and some large grunting noises, I climbed on to the front of the boat, wrapped my legs tightly around the drum, grabbed my baton and readied myself.

I did my job ~ I kept my eyes on the Coxswain, I yelled back his commands, I watched everyone work, I screamed my freakin lungs out. We won that race as well. Climbing out of the boat, I was told that I had just earned the position of Drummer. I may not have been the smallest person on the team, but I was the smallest person on the team with the biggest voice. Lots of pats on the back and lots of surprised looks. Yes, I may look little�but I have a HUGE voice and I have no trouble yelling commands.

Damn, this was fun ~ screaming commands all day long, screaming the stroke count, screaming the transition, and occasionally screaming a few expletives. We were one. One oar. One stroke. We paddled well. We were consistent. Eighteen boats competed. Our competition was chanting, �Beat Continental!�

We raced some five races. We had quite a head wind. I learned to keep low. This completely psyched out the other teams (so I was told). I didn�t look at the other teams until after the race. I was focused on my boat, my team, my race only. When we pulled up to the start line, I began screaming and grunting, all hunched over in start position, very, very low. I looked scary, I must admit. That was the whole idea. Every paddler in my boat had his eyes on me ~ no one spoke a word. I held on by wrapping my legs around the drum and holding on with one hand. The other hand held the baton, which I barely used. I used my voice more than the drum. What a great feeling.

When we won the final championship round, we got to paddle up and down, back and forth, while the crowd cheered and the cameras rolled. We splashed our paddles on the water and I drummed (really for the first time) like a maniac! We looked great, shaking with an adrenaline rush and the high of winning.

The trophy is beautiful! We were all invited to go out on the field at the Astros game last night, before the National Anthem. They played a video of the race and announced us as the winners (the Astros had a team that they sponsored as well). Afterwards, the Captain told me that, �No matter what � you are our Drummer, from now on.�

Yeah! Perhaps I�ll move to Australia and become a Coxswain. Love it, love it, love it! Can�t wait to do it again next year!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!