Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:43 p.m. - Jul. 24, 2003
Meningitis scare
Well...this has been an interesting time.

I have been quarantined to my home since Monday as I was exposed to viral Meningitis. I have been told that, for the safety of others, I should avoid persons with compromised immune systems during the incubation period of 5 - 7 days. Sounds like something from the movies...hardly real life!

So far this is day # 5 for me and I show no signs of illness. I am bored out of my freaking mind though! Most of this week I have slept - stress has really worn me down.

But today...today I feel in great spirits! I woke up early and found a way to get online. I am at my Poppy's home office while he is away. He is scheduled back here in about 45 minutes. I'll wipe down his PC before I go.

This is just weird.

My sister has been having a series of medical problems (either herself or her husband or her four children) over the past several months. It seems to be never-ending. As soon as everyone began to show signs of good health, her husband decided to treat her to a spa vacation for a week, in California. They left the children here, so that they could be alone.

Ironically, while on that vacation, my brother-in-law become suddenly and violently ill in the middle of the night in the middle of nowhere. My sister had him transported to the nearest hospital by way of ambulance. For 8 days, they remained in that hospital...battling fever, nausea, vomitting, severe headaches, etc., etc.

I flew out to CA last weekend, to help my sister take care of her husband. No one at the hospital bothered to tell us that he was extremely contagious with Meningitis...and they couldn't even tell us if it was the viral or the bacterial Meningitis. Complete incompetence, this freakin hospital. Unbelievable.

We finally got a diagnosis confirmed yesterday - the best news we could've hoped for...it is viral meningitis.

So far so good for me. No signs of illness. My family is beginning to get healthy again. No fever in over 24 hours. He's been released from the hospital and should be flying home tomorrow, if all remains as is.

The sun is shining. I'm wearing clean panties. I feel fine.

And now I need to get out of here...

In need of art and beauty.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!