Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:13 a.m. - Jan. 19, 2004
the hunt is on...
Thursday January 15, 2004

The Hunt is on�

After two years in my �Treehouse� I�ve been informed, via formal letter, that my landlords are increasing my rent�by $75�effective February 1st. The letter was dated January 1st, but I didn�t receive it until the 5th. Hardly enough time for me to be able to give them my thirty days notice, before being able to move out in time to avoid paying the increase.

They shafted me�and I have been a good tenant, quiet and low-maintenance (which translates to low-cost). I re-grouted and re-tiled the bath on my own time and out of my own pocket. I built a shelving unit in the closet, whereas before, there wasn�t so much as a rod in there to hang clothes. I�ve not asked them for anything�except when the heat broke.

They cited increased property taxes, yadda yadda�

They want too much money for this place. It would be one thing if they actually put some time and money into it, but they haven�t. They�ve done nothing to this place, since I�ve been here. It is a miserably cold place in the winter and upstairs is almost unbearable in the summer. For these reasons, I feel that it is overpriced. At least, its over my budget.

Ah�but still�I love this place and I will miss it, dearly. My heart aches, thinking of all of the amazing times I�ve had in this place. It is a beautiful home. I will miss the front porch�and my cozy, funky converted attic space.

But�I am also ready for a change. This place sometimes feels as if it is a bit too much for me. It�s hard for me to keep every room of this place clean and organized. There seems to always be at least one room in this place that is always a mess.

The prospect of starting anew�of creating a new space�of having a blank canvas again�THAT is exciting.

And so�

The hunt is on!!!

I looked at two garage apartments today. The first one was nice enough, I guess�but it didn�t �call to me.� It was a little too updated and renovated for my taste, actually. It had lost its charm ~ no hardwood floors, no black & white tile in the kitchen, no gas cooking. It was the same amount of money as my Treehouse, before they increased my rent. But, for absolutely no outdoor space (or cozy place, really, inside), I decided it wasn�t the place for me. All cold tiles�and light colored carpet in the bedroom. No fuzzy warmth. I couldn�t see my things in that place.

But�

BUT�the 2nd garage apartment�oh wow!!!!!! Wowee wowee wowee. I WANT that place�bad! It is absolutely charming ~ a tiny, tiny, tiny cute place�only 500 square feet. But I can make it work. A TON of personality with a claw foot bathtub, gas stove, hardwood floors�and�get this�the best part�a HUGE private deck upstairs, built around an enormous tree! It is the perfect place. It screams to me!!!

I told the owner / landlord that, �I love it. I think it�s home.� And I offered him a check, on the spot. He�s actually Clint�s landlord, for several years now�and a friend of Clint�s. My friend, Craig, before he bought his home, he also rented from this guy. I�ve met him on several occasions, over the years. So�he knows me, more or less. I reminded him that I have had the same employer for 15 years, that I�ve lived in the neighborhood for 17 years and that I am a previous homeowner. And�he knows all my friends. But�he had an appointment with someone else, after me�that he was obligated to show. Ends up this person coming to view the place after me is one of his oldest friend�s new boyfriend. So�if this guy loves the place, I think there may be some preferential treatment there. If that�s the case, so be it ~ there will be another opportunity.

Oh�and�this place is $250 a month less than the original rent of the Treehouse�believe it. Oh�but, wait�it gets better�this place also has a WASHER and DRYER!!!

I haven�t had a washer and dryer since I lived in Colorado, some (10?) years ago.

I am so excited about this place. It is almost too good to be true. I just love it. Ah, but�I need to not get my hopes up too high. I need to just have faith that it will work out the way that it is meant to work out, whatever happens.

But�the thing is, I can already envision my things in that place�I am already thinking of the type of furniture I will need�and the pieces of furniture that must go, to make that place work. I am just so excited. If this works out�wowee, I am going to be one happy girl. And I�m going to purge, big time, before moving into that place. Less stuff that I don�t need, don�t use, don�t want anymore�all of it goes.

It�s an exciting opportunity�

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!