Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:05 a.m. - Jan. 20, 2004
Survival
Monday, January 19, 2004

Survival�

I survived a day at the Galleria, with eight children in tow. My mother, sister and I took my son, his friend, three of my brother�s children and three of my sister�s four children to �Build a Bear.� We all made bears. Or rather, we all made stuffed animals. Sydnye picked out a pink piggie, Cassidy a unicorn, Matt a dog, and Nikki a pink poodle, much to my sister�s mild embarrassment. But, no one discouraged him. Even when he picked out a pink and silver sequin outfit, complete with matching silk bows for the hair and shoes. And he named her �Pretty.�

I told my sister not to worry�that Nikki could grow up to be the next Versace.

I haven�t been to the Galleria in years. In fact, I really try to avoid it. But, today was special. It was fun�yes�but gee, I can�t remember ever being this exhausted. It feels like midnight, although it�s not even 9PM yet.

I had a beer tonight, on my way home.

I am not much of a beer drinker. I may have two beers in a month. I�m actually not much of a drinker, at all. Although I do love a good Bloody Mary�extra spicy, please.

But�I had a beer tonight. When I do drink a beer, I usually choose something special, a sipping beer. My favorite is Chimay.

Ok�so�it is back to work tomorrow, after this lovely family-fun-filled three-day weekend. I understand now when I hear people say that they�re �going back to work, to get some rest.� Or some such thing.

And no, this does not mean that I am getting old.

(Ah�time for a nice, hot lavender aromatherapy bath�)

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!