Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:41 p.m. - Jul. 02, 2004
Fahrenheit 9/11
I'm just a hippie. I'm a simple girl, really, in some ways. I am not political.

(Dare I admit, at age 35, that I have never voted?)

I'm just a hippie, really.

This is what I heard myself saying last night, as I was waving incense sticks around my apartment, clearing the air of negativity, while discussing the movie we had just seen: Fahrenheit 9/11.

Sitting in the theatre, next to my hunny, with him fresh back from Iraq now for less than 1 month...after having spent the majority of the past 10 years in the Middle East and / or Eastern Europe. Sometimes in the military...sometimes as a civilian, supporting the troops there that are fighting. This last time he was unarmed and not there to kill people.

But, we sat there in that theatre, watching the war on the big screen, surround sound and all....and man, I'll tell you what drove this home for me....on the screen and all around us, without warning, there was suddenly an explosion. Loud and real. Surround sound is powerful stuff, let me tell you. My hunny jumped out of his fucking skin...and then I tried not to turn and stare at him...but, I watched from the corner of my eye as he hunkered down in his seat, as if to protect himself from the bombing. This happened twice in the movie, where he physically recoiled, to protect himself. I put my arm around him, squeezed his leg and kissed him. I whispered that it was alright. But how do you process that kind of shit? How does one process that kind of bullshit out of their psyche, out of their heart, out of their souls? War and death and torture and bombs and seeing half dead babies scream and watching as our children kill each other because of something called war...? man, how does one process that kind of shit?

I guess just one day and one moement at a time.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!