Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:50 p.m. - Aug. 10, 2004
boo boo
This past Saturday, Ian & I spent 3 1/2 hours @ Ikea, shopping for our new, old house. We bought a sofa, three chairs and hords of pots & pans, along with various other kitchen & bath items.

When we got home, we were having a blast, unloading everything, putting it all directly into the dish washer...and yes, this is the first dishwasher for me...what a treat!

Ian was struggling with one of those horrifying blister packs that are near to impossible to open. I offered to help. I took out one of our new, big-ass, super sharp knives...and, after a bit of a struggle, I mananged to cut myself pretty substantially. Immediately I could see that it was a BAD cut...very deep and at a bad angle. There was alot of blood.

ian was standing right next to me. "Oh shit, let's go to the hospital" was all that I said. Ian took one look and agreed. He grabbed a tishirt, ripped it apart, tied it tightly around my thumb and hand, filled a plastic bag with ice, told me to elevate it, grabbed my purse, loaded me into the car and drove me to the hospitl. We were there in a matter of minutes.

Ian held my hand and made me laugh, wile they gave me a Tetanus shot, deadened the area with Lidocaine and stitched me up. I think ther were 4 or 5 stitches total. The area remained numb for several hours and then I went to sleep, without episide.

Upon waking Sunday morning, I was in a load of pain. I had no idea that a cut could hurt so much. I've not had stitches before...except when I was a baby, which I don't remember, of course.

Stitches come out in a week. Pain only comes in waves, mostly in the latter part of the day. Most of the sweeling has subsided. I bet I don't even have a scar, after this heals.

But man, it was gruesome.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!