Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

8:43 p.m. - Jul. 05, 2005
4th of July weekend
I was almost shocked when I opened my diary tonight ~ and discovered that I hadn't written in months! There was a time when I posted almost daily entries...

Ian is in Los Alamos, NM. He left this morning. Not sure when he'll be done with this special assignment, or if they will pay for him to come home on the weekends, but at least we are still meeting in LAX this Friday, for the weekend. Gonna see The D play at the Whisky.

Ian's done quite a bit of traveling this summer ~ two trips to Arlington, a week in College Station and now this assignment in New Mexico ~ for probably the duration of the summer.

So much for Normandy ~ although Ian still hasn't told his sister! We are, however, planning a trip together at the end of this project...to Jamaica. A quiet, secluded white-sand beach with crystal-clear blue water, 2+ hours from Montego Bay. A perfect escape. It is just about all I can think of.

Yesterday was the 4th of July. On Friday, we decided to throw a small, casual, impromptu party on Monday, the holiday. Ian made two beer-butt chickens & roasted potatoes ~ TOO DIE FOR. And a big, bad-ass salad. I made bruschetta on the gril. Threw the party preps together in an hour and a half, after rolling out of bed and eating a 5,000-calorie breakfast at IHOP. Tim & Julia came over, looking like Rock Stars, as always. Philly & Tom were all smiles. Sasha was exhausted & hungover from a weekend of partying. Todd was hurting from a 7-day binge, Jerry Springer style. Cate freaked freaked out everyone. She didn't notice. Nikki was in PVR with Anissa, all expenses paid "by some hot, rich dudes." It was a great holiday weekend ~ the first three-day weekend that actually did feel long enough. As if I got the very most out of it. And I fel as if I really did. Ian and I spent alot of time alone together, doing our own thing...but we also hung out a bit with family & friends. It was a nice balance, which seems to be a nice change. Lately it seems that we've had alot of family obligations or just family stuff, in general.

This weekend was so perfect. We stayed up late, woke up leisurely, had few obligations, made a lot of love, went swimming, hosted a party and still had time alone, on the sofa, to do a whole lotta nada. Oh yeah.

This is a particularly short work week for me. Monday, yesterday, was a holiday. Friday I am taking as a vacation day. So, it's a nice three-day work week for me, followed by another three-day weekend. Oh yea. Going to see The D at the Whisky. Long live The D!!! It will be the first time that we have seen them perform live & in-person. And for a good cause, too ~ to raise money for a child suffering from autism, for additional treatment. Staying at a trippy little place in West Hollywood, on the fabulous Sunset Strip. Hangin' in LA is definitely out-of-the-box for us. We're more NY people.

This is a rambling and random.

The castle has been under construction. New paint colors were added today, which I haven't seen yet. There is much to paint, outside & in. Sasha's 39th birthday is Saturday. But, since the castle isn't 100% ready, the party...and I do mean THE party, will be the last weekend of the month. One of those "Everyone is invited" parties. We are a couple of years overdue for a big-ass bash at the castle!!!

I am half-watching trash television., wireless on the sofa. Love it. I have about two tons of laundry to put away. I have little choice ~ they have completely covered the bed!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!