Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:38 a.m. - Dec. 07, 2006
The G-19
G-19 is our code for super secret. We're working on a G-19 mission, to escape from Florida. Originally, we were on a 5-year plan. After being here less than a year, that 5-year plan became more of a 3-year plan. Now it appears that it may end up being closer to a 1-year plan, if we can pull it off. Thank god for Jeffrey, my "sister-wife" as I call him. He and Ian are a team and, since being out here himself since this past June, Jeff has had about his fill of this place ~ to the point of entertaining other offers with other companies, one of which has some opportunity back in Houston. He's been talking to some people that are courting him. He is going to Houston later this month, to meet with them. He wants to negotiate Ian into the deal by telling them that Ian's year commitment is up in January and he would then be able to follow shortly thereafter, in June.

I don't want to get my hopes up too high, but I often fantasize about returning to my hometown. I miss it. I miss my friends and family. I miss the amenities. I miss the Heights.

Living here, for the first year of Henry's life has been good for us. It's helped us to establish our family without any outside influences or interruptions, so to speak. We haven't had anyone but oursevles to rely upon. There's no one to babysit so we can go to the movies. There's no one to come over and offer a break when we need or want one. It's been tough but also very rewarding, knowing that we can and have been doing it all on our own.

But also, living here makes me so homesick. Here, there is no where to go. If I take henry on a walk, the only place there is to walk, from the house, is around the neighborhood. No groovy main street to enjoy, no funky shops to peruse, no friends to visit. Even the mall here sucks. The two gems here are 1. Our beautiful house and 2. The local zoo, in melbourne. Other than that, there are a small handful of restaurants worth eating at and no galleries or museums to speak of. It is dreadfully boring and ridiculously small-town.

We are ready to go.

Fingers crossed. Fingers and toes. :)

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!