Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

3:07 p.m. - Nov 8, 2001
The truth about truth...
Life lesson of the day: Truth is NOT for everyone.

I just learned this - today, in fact. I thought that everyone appreciates and respects honesty as much as I do. Jeezus, I guess I was wrong.

I exchanged some e-mails with Aimee today. Started out innocently enough. She sent me a joke. I responded and asked her how she was feeling (she hurt her back). She asked me when we were going to get together again. I told her that we would need to wait until next week because my finances are shot right now. And then...then I decided to spill the beans. I felt like I needed to be honest with her about my expectations, etc.

After some idle chit-chat, I wrote:

I just want you to know where I "am" right now. I think it is only fair

for you to know what is going on in my life, in my head, and in my heart right

now.

(yadda, yadda, yadda)

I am not ready for a relationship that would cause me to be committed to a

single person. I am looking to meet new people and to share new adventures.

I don't want to hurt anyone, so I feel that is important to be honest and

upfront. I am going camping with a special friend this weekend. We are

friends and we are lovers, although we are not committed to each other,

exclusively. I would be lying to you if I told you that I wasn't planning

on continuing a sexual and intimate relationship with him.

Aimee, I want you to know all of the facts, so that you can make a decision

based on truth.

So... ?

And she freaked out. She responded:

ooooooooookaaay..thanks for the TMI ...

I was only trying to find out if you still were up for dinner sometime...

I never had any expectaions and Galveston was NOT a set up.... I just wanted to go..and it was going to be with or without ya.. It was one of those nights and ...well..I am glad you wanted to go. It's peaceful even when you have people around...

I don't know what you think I wanted or expected..but I think you got the

wrong impression. If we hook up for coffee or whatever again kewl..if not that's kewl to..

I am glad I got to meet you. I am all about meeting people & being social..

thanks

Aimee

Ok, the tone in her e-mail was gruff and I just felt as if I had offended her. But, the way that she gazed into my eyes at the end of our evening together Friday night, I felt like I needed to tell her. She looked very serious, like she just might be falling for me. Perhaps I was wrong. But, I just wanted to be honest.

When I told her that I didn't mean to offend her and that I was only trying to be honest with her, she wrote back:

ok..

I am feeling weirdness now..not sure why..

I do not want any complexities here. We hung out, had fun..no expectations. I am not sure what you want here...with all the info.

Get your stuff settled and maybe we can meet for a drink sometime.

Take it easy

Aimee

Alrighty. Jeez. Is honesty so bad?

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!