Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

1:05 p.m. - Feb. 25, 2002
My Beautiful Secret
Saturday. 2/24/02. 1:53AM. This is the day that Noah was born. Only minutes old, I find myself standing over the warmer that he is in, next to my sister�s hospital bed. Lots of people in the room now, yet I find myself alone with him for this glorious moment.

I stood over him, marveling at his innocence and his beauty. And a thought rushed to my heart. I thought again of the truth that I learned - that birth is the single most traumatic experience in life. I felt drawn to Noah, to tell him that it�s all going to be okay. I instinctively placed my hand over his tiny head and whispered (so only he could hear) my own little special welcome. I told him what a beautiful miracle he was. I called him by his name. I welcomed him into the world and assured him that everything was fine.

Noah�s eyes were still matted shut. Yet, when I spoke sweetly to him, he strained to open his eyes � and, amazingly, one single eye opened.

This is my beautiful secret. Of being the first person that Noah saw. Of being the first thing, outside of my sister�s womb, that Noah�s eyes set upon.

What a beautiful secret to hold in one�s heart forever.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!