Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:48 a.m. - Nov. 24, 2003
The tide turns...
Beginning to stir. Beginning to awaken. Beginning to shake my sticky head...

Woke up Friday morning with a hankering to go somewhere, anywhere...to do something, anything. Run. Run away. Have fun. Escape. Explore. Discover. Go, go, go.

So I planned on a day-trip to San Francisco, in Saturday. The flights were open, the weather beautiful, I had no plans to prevent me from going. I couldn't find anyone to join me. Clint & Matt were spending the weekend in G-town, what a surprise. Blake & Sasha were working on the landscaping in their backyard, building a retainijng wall. Philly is redecorating the entire Pad, in preparation for Rob & Robin's arrival on Turkey Day...and the party to follow, on Friday. Lisa is moving ~ from midtown to the Galleria. Poor girl. Lame move, I think. There are so many great places to rent in the Heights & Montrose area. Girl, places you would much rather be. Oh well. Even Doug, the last-minute weekend excursion planner had plans to stay home and work around his home.

Bummer.

At first I was still going - even if it meant going alone. No big deal. Take a four hour flight Saturday morning, arrive @ 1 in the afternoon. Take the B.A.R.T. into downtown, Union Square area. Shop Lush for a couple of hours. Have lunch. Fuck around. Do lots of walking around. That's just the thing. It was supposed to be a clear but cold ass day in SFO on Saturday...the sun goes down around 5PM...the 5:30PM flight is no longer operating on Saturday...I'd have to wait around til 12:50AM Sunday morning, for a return flight home. Which means walking around in the dark and in the cold, by myself, for a few hours. Not a huge deal, normally. But I am just getting over this damn flu. My tmmy's been freaky ass all week. I didn't feel so good Friday night. On Thursday, when I tried to have a beer, I drank half of it, felt bad, went home and puked. Went to bed early that night...and the night before. So - perhaps this trip to SFO was pushing it a bit too far too fast.

But fuck ~ I am ready to get going. I have been idle, in a holding pattern for what seems an eternity. I have been quiet and still for so long. I feel my belly becoming more round. And my breath quickens after walking up a flight of stairs. I feel the slowness and stillness of a quiet life seeping back into my bones.

SFO sounded like a lovely idea. Friday night I left work early, at 5PM. I hung out at the OC for a while and chatted with Paul and Gerald and whoever else showed up. Sasha called and he and Blake were out on the town, looking for a new place to go. We met up at the OC and went for drinks. Every where we went seemed lame. There was noting going on.

Went to Philly's for awhile. watched him as he ran all aorund his home, upstairs & downstairs, forever rearranging furniture and pictures and nic-nacs and the like. Speed freaks unite. It was a weird scene. Weird fucking energy.

After we had all that we could take, we got out of there. Called it a night. My tummy felt weird again. "Difficulty in assimilating the new." Yeah, it's true ~ I know it.

So...by the time I put my head down Friday night to sleep, I had already decided not to go to SFO, after all. I had a free day to muself then. No one was expecting me to be in town.

I slept til 9AM Saturday morning. When I awoke, I wanted to go, go, go...do, do, do. I wanted to be up and out and on my way. I wanted to go and to see and to do. Anything.

Fuck, my house has fallen into a pit of disgust lately. Yes. Stages. Stages of alternating beauty and vital energy...then filth and stench and dormancy. Clutter.

Ah, but no more. Again.

By 12:30PM, I had already eaten breakfast, ran to the Pet store, did some grocery shopping, gathered my laundry, got a roll of quarters...and was in the midst of washing two HUGE ass loads of laundry. And I wrote in my journal. I did quite a bit of writing this weekend. Ah, and smoking. I've smoked way more that I should have this weekend.

Oh well.

I also danced. And danced with my Hula-hoop.

After finishing my wash, I decided to go use the gift certificate Clint & matt got me, for my birthday. But first, DAMN...my CD player's been on the fritz. It's just too damn old. Doesn;t play some CDs at all. And the antenna is broken so it's difficult to tune in Rice Radio. Ok so...I decided to splurge...hell, I wasn't going to Lush any longer, so I wasn't going spend a hundred bucks or more on Lush products...so, why not!? I bought myself a new CD player. Fucking love it, too!

Ok, I am a simple girl. I have simple tastes. I need only simple things. It doesn't take much. I bought a new CD player...and three new CDs. I bought the new Lamb, some old-ass Kate Bush from 1978, Lionheart...and some Nina Simone.

If ever there was a day for Nina Simone, Sunday was IT. All rainy...getting cooler and cooler as the day goes on.

I smoked and cleaned and cleaned and cleaned. I danced and sang and danced and sang.

My home is lovely once again.

I am so glad that I stayed home this weekend. I had so much that needed to get done ~ ah, and I did it.

My home is freakin lovely. And full of energy...and music...once again.

I want to bake cookies. I want to decorate a Christmas tree. I want to be surrounded by loveliness.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!