Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

10:29 a.m. - Aug. 20, 2004
flag on
Yea, I rarely totally understand Candarita's ramblings any longer, since I gave up poisoning my body with illegally purchased pharmaceuticals purchased across the border.

But, here's a story she sent this morning, as writting in her own hand:

Glenn, the stylist, informed me today (while waxing my brows) that Saturday night at Velvet, afterhours, he does some sort of trancelike FLAG DANCE. Naturally, as he is in my face, waxing brows and sincerely says the word FLAG DANCE, I busted out. I quite possibly

spit in his eye, there was an abrupt recoil, followed by a towelling off. hahaha

Then, as inquiring minds need to know, I HAD TO KNOW about this mysterious creature named FLAG DANCE. Well, I laughed until he got mad at me...I could not control myself. This is his story (not mine, his very specific description):

"Well, have you ever seen people dance with sticks?" mmmm, yeah? "OK, well, it is like that, sort of, but I go into a trance. You see, I read about it and got all sweaty and then just knew that I was born to FLAG DANCE!" hmmm, ok, are there drugs for this trance, is it

like dancing with fire?? (he then breaks out into an example that basically looked like a matador waving his flag with some sort of flaming grace?? if ya get my drift) "Oh, no, it is like magic, it just takes over my body and you know... I am the only FLAG DANCER in South Texas." hmmm, ya don't say....well, I think I must see this one with my own two. "I'll be performing Satruday night afterhours, you just have to see it!" (I take a few minutes to consider this entire concept, one overweight guy with flock of seagulls hairdo/in brunette FLAG DANCING...yes, interesting. The afterhours thing might be problematic, unless I just keep on drinkin' - can do. Then, the burning question hit me: "Do you ever have audience participation with this FLAG DANCE or are there other FLAGGERS out there that travel around to join in for group FLAGGING?" The intensity of his love

for this made me want to hop on stage and...salute?

Here's the best part of the story: "You have no idea, NO IDEA...you

know the girls in high school that were either in band or twirling that did the flags???" (I immediately think of Michelle, haha) "Well, they ALWAYS want to get on stage with me and think that they can just FLAG DANCE. They cannot, it just does not work this way, it

is metaphysical, magical, not band flag waving!!!@@!!! Last weekend, I actually got into a tug of war with my FLAGS in the middle of my dance with this drunk bitch who insisted that she could do it. It was horrible, we struggled, I finally gave it to her, just to let her make a fool of herself, as they always do..." hahahaha, he

was serious and got mad at the memory!!!! hahahahaha "Every

single time I FLAG DANCE, there is some band geek flag waver trying to steal my show. But...they never do."

THIS I GOTTA SEE. If not this weekend, soon. I'm just beat from trip. We need to go to the Tango Tea Room, very cool...you'll love it. They have very inexpensive food, in the yin yang fandango (what the fuck is that name anyway? try to convince your car to drive into that parking lot!) store. I'll keep you posted.

To which, my reply to her was:

Strangely enough....and, ok, laugh at me...but I can totally & completely

relate to the metaphysical flag dance trance dance story of said flagger

REPRESENT!

I remember a time that I was completely MOVED by some FORCE within me, yet

outside of me, somewhere that is everywhere and yet nowhere at the same

time...and I danced and jyrated like a monkey on speed, receiving shock

treatments...I was ONE with my Kaws Moti (an Indian instrument, which looks

very similar to an African Shakre...but the Kaws Moti is made of Coconut, in

lieu of the big typical ghord)

But, I digress.

Something just takes over. To move and to express, without inhibitions and

without thought of consequence or imminent success or "failure" becase there

is NO FAILURE, is magical and most powerful...and something hard to explain

to anyone. One of those "you had to be there" moments that only your pets

are supposed to be witness to.

Flag on!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!