Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:46 a.m. - Oct 14, 2001
Trash & Treasure Hunting
What a glorious day it was! After dining outside, on the patio, at Brasil, I went in search of trash or treasure. I must've gone to over a half dozen junk / antique shops in the Heights. I got some finds, too! I found a miniature wheel barrel that I am going to use for a tiny little plant, a funky-as-hell basket made of twigs, an odd little painting called The Tree of Life, plus two matching iron wall brackets (painted white) which I am going to use as decorative pieces above the door to my new loft bedroom.

Last week I found a groovy floor lamp from the 1920's, an old moss green trunk, phone cabinet, and a punched-tin picture frame.

After shopping and browsing for several hours, I ended up at Kaldi Cafe. It was cold and I decided to enjoy a cigarette & cappuccino on the patio.

After feeding Chester AGAin (boy, that cat must be going thru a growing spell!) I hung at Philly & Sasha's. They whipped up a little bruscetta with the yummiest toasted parmesan cheese I have ever eaten. It was delicious. We had Krispy Kreme donughts for dessert, too! Yum.

I found myself talking on and on and on about my NEW PLACE!

SPEAKING OF...

While I was out & about shopping, I decided (on a whim) to stop by my new place. I was hoping that maybe one of the workers would be there and I could go in to have another look around. Just my luck. The owners had just drove up, to check on the progress that the workers had made. Amazing luck!

They let me in and I was able to explore to my heart's content. I found that the fan upstairs in the loft needed to be fixed, and that there was a slow leak in the bathtub. The owners already had a list of things they wanted to happen in the next couple of days...before I move in!!! The floors, however, looked phenomenal! They had been stripped, buffed, and waxed - and looked like new.

I got a few inspirations while I was there - on how I want the place to look. Thing is, I am starting completely over. I don't have any real furniture to speak of - except for my grandmother's old dinette. And I think I found the perfect spot for it, too! After picking Philly & Sasha's brains tonight, I have some more shopping to do! I invision an "I Dream of Genie" palace, up in the loft. Sasha said I should go to Urban Outfitters for some groovy fabric to hang on the walls up there. And Ikea for a sea grass rug, for downstairs. And a place on (22nd?) for a loveseat.

I could just go on and on and on... I am just so excited! In my loft bedroom, there's a planter window (three tiers) where I can put lots of plants. I just have so many ideas - I'm really very excited!

I'm signing the lease on Monday and I'll be moving in on Friday.

Still looking for a loveseat, fun & comfy chairs for the living room, a coffee table, and other special items to make the place my own. I am sending this out to the universe, to ask for guidance in finding these items.

I also see a Genie lamp in my future!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!