Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2:05 p.m. - Nov 11, 2001
D.R.U.M
So, last night I had an unexpected adventure. I was driving home from spending the day with my friend, Michelle. We went to the Psychic Fair in Old Town Spring, had a groovy Thai lunch (her treat - for my bday) and just spent some time catching up.

It was around 8p when I got back to my neck of the woods. I spoke with Clint and he was hanging out with Phily, Sasha, and his "Sugar-Booger." I wasn't sure what I wanted to do at this point. I have been in the mood for a bit of trouble and I have been wanting to go hear some live music. After driving past the Satellite Lounge (with some band playing that I didn't really want to hear) I decided to stop by Fitzgerald's. I haven't seen a show there in a long time. Had no idea who was playing but I figured that I would at least go in for a drink or two. As I was parking, a guy walked up to me and asked me if I was going to park there. Well, yeah I kinda thought that I would. He gave me some friendly advice which lead me to move my car. We chatted for a bit and we introduced ourselves. After I moved my car, he told me that he was playing downstairs and offered for me to be his guest. Groovy. So, I hung out with the members of D.R.U.M all night. They're groovy guys but I had no idea if they were going to be any good. No loss either way. I just wanted a diversion. So, I hung out, drank, and partied with them. We smoked Ganja and just really had a great time together. They didn't play until after midnight. I figured I would stay for a few songs and then head out of there. All I knew about D.R.U.M was that they had been together forever...and that they consist mainly of percussion. Fine by me, being the drum freak that I am. Jeezus, was I in for a surprise!!!

They started out heavy and clean and I could barely believe my luck. They fucking rocked - a little Reggae, a little Funk, a little Hip Hop, a little World Beat. The guy I met in the parking lot is (have no idea how to spell it, so I'm gonna sound it out here) Allah-fee-uh. He's the lead and plays saxophone, Congas, Djembe, and has a kick ass voice to boot. He's a great lead man, too. Full of energy and groovy to watch. He has dreads down to almost his ass. In the middle of the first song, he let his hair down. In fact, he let his hair shoot out of the woven "cap" he wore. Once his hair was free, I saw a completely different person on stage. He became wild and possessed my the music. It really was a sight to behold. The music filled his body, he closed his eyes, and he became one with his drum. It was beautiful. I found myself in total awe of this man. I froze, with my mouth open, and couldn't move. I was caught up in the music, too. Wow, holy jeez, I've never been attracted to a man like this before. He had so much creative energy...and just sparkled. He danced and jumped and gyrated all over the stage, with eyes closed no doubt. It was amazing. He's a "little" man, too. Just a bit bigger than my size. He was all flirty with me and we hugged a few times. Kissed cheeks a few times. He has great energy. A warmth about him. Mmm... We talked about Yoga and I was totally surprised that he knew exactly what Bikram Yoga is. I told him I practice Yoga. He asked what type. I told him Bikram. And he responded, "Oh, you do that SWEATY Yoga!" I was so amazed. Anyhoo - Like I said, they were groovy guys that played their freakin hearts out and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I got home a bit after 130am. It was a fantastic night.

Maybe I'll go out to the Bob Marley Festival in Clear Lake tonight...

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!