Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

8:31 p.m. - Jul. 16, 2002
Mooch (and poetry)
That's right, I feel like a mooch. But, I don't mind really. My mother, my Poppy and my son are all in Europe right now. I am over at their place,

eating their food, drinking their cokes, washing my laundry...and using

their Internet service! Cheers to the good life...

I've had these two poems in my purse for almost a week now - hoping for a

free moment at work where I could sit down & send them to wig. But, work

has been nonstop madness, so I haven't been able to put pen to paper (so to

speak) until now.

They are both poems that I originally wrote in 1988. The other night (and I

don't know why), I opened up an old book of my poetry and read from it. I

came across these two poems...and decided right then and there to re-work / re-write them. Who needs sleep when there is poetry to be written? :)

Poem # 1 Wet Sunlight

City of sardine cans shine

From the highway

I see puddles of pavement

Stretching further and further

Towards the green nothing

Of trees and bugs

I like the big

Shiny

Liquid buildings of lights

And the scurry like mice

Of men and machine

The sky so bold

To cover with clouds

The city

Bone-grey like sand

I have seen so many faces

Heard so many whispers

The city

Secrets lie face down

Winds of change blow

Running, I feel music

Beat beating in my stomach

And I cannot get to the middle

Soon enough

To climb the walls

And look out over

Oceans and oceans and oceans...

Of city.

Aug 1988 / July 2002

___________________________

Poem #2: Beach Poem #1

Grey blue sky

Light & shadow on the sand

Waves lick the jetty

And I taste the salt of the wind

On my face

Mist of cool air fills my chest

And I find myself happily alone

In this beautiful place

Peace from the ocean

Peace from the sky

Surrender swept slowly by

I breathe in the ocean

I taste of the tide

I am so blessed

This moment is mine

July 1988 / July 2002

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!