Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:16 a.m. - Jan. 19, 2004
purge baby, purge...
Sunday, January 18, 2004

Purge, Baby, Purge�

Today I began the monumental task of purging�of moving towards the goal of taking 1100 square feet full of stuff�and squeezing it into 500 square feet.

I have just a bit over one month to accomplish this. Being the project manager that I am, I set down a punch list, drew out a floor plan and devised a plan to make this work.

The plan is simple. I just need to get rid of half of everything that I own.

Last night, I stayed up late and went through my books. Today, I took those books and sold them for $15. A sweet deal for a bunch of books that I didn�t want. I also cleaned out my closet today and took two bags of clothes to Goodwill. I was able to successfully dwindle down the contents in my closet to just about half. Not bad. However, I could find no way to get rid of half of all of my books, no way.

I guess I can live without clothing�but not without books�?

This weekend I filled an entire city-issued, huge-ass rubbish bin, on my own�full of my crap. All of the crap has to go. It feels good to purge.

I used an old trunk (previously empty, in the corner downstairs) and lined it with an old sheet�and I filled it with my linens. This will go at the foot of my bed, in my new place, as my new �linen closet.�

Must think, �Efficient storage.�

My mother gave me three books on living in small spaces�storage solutions, color schemes, etc. Interesting. I am determined to make this work. I am focused.

I am off work tomorrow, but waking up early. I have a full day planned with my family. My mother, my sister and I will have nine children in our care tomorrow. I hope the weather is nice. I know it�s going to be cold. Maybe if the sun is out, it will be ok�if not, we can just hang out inside, maybe play some games or rent movies. It will be fun.

Wish it wasn�t so late and I wasn�t so tired�wish I didn�t have to get up tomorrow for anything�only because I�d stay up late if I could�and purge, purge, purge some more�

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!